Stearman Biplane Ride and Warbird Flights Reviews

Put down the 3D video game remote, time for the real thing !

Rated 5 out of 5
November 19, 2022

If you’re like me and have been captivated by the courage and the might that our military possesses; if you have watched documentaries about WWII, specifically about Air Supremacy, and wondered how

our young men and women managed to cope and succeed, and would I have had what it takes to be amongst those brave pilots? Then take advantage of this opportunity and book a flight with Lt. David Brown. It was a nostalgic experience I will never forget. I’m 57 and of average health and condition. I wanted to experience some of the Texan’s maneuverabilities, but I was concerned that maybe I would get to feeling uneasy. Lt Brown’s skills at formulating a flight plan and reading my abilities through constant communication and flight checks proved to be a perfect combination. I was able to ease into maneuvers and eventually complete a slow barrel roll that left me in awe !

We performed many other masterful maneuvers during the flight, each time Lt Brown kept in constant contact with reassuring praises. I have called everyone in my family and told all my friends, I can’t say enough about how amazing and how gratifying this experience was. I was compelled to write this review in hopes that by sharing my experience, it might excite and encourage others to book an experience of a lifetime. Thanks again to Lt David Brown ! See you again in the spring !

Scott Poverchuk

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Great flying with you! Most aerobatics I have done in a while! Thanks again, David

Memorable Experience!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 18, 2022

My brother and I purchased a flight for my 79 year old dad for Father’s Day! David made purchasing and scheduling a flight very easy. He responded quickly and answered all of my questions. My dad had an awesome flight and couldn’t stop talking about how much he enjoyed it! He is already talking about going up again! I highly recommend this experience with David and the Stearman biplane. Thank you, David for giving my dad a memorable day!

Karen Nace

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Karen – thank you again for bringing your dad out to fly with me. It was a pleasure meeting him and providing him this experience. Hope to see him again for the aerobatic experience! – David

Smooth Ride

Rated 5 out of 5
October 16, 2022

David Brown was very professional, personable, an excellent communicator and all around super nice guy. During my aerobatic ride David smoothly transitioned from one maneuver to another. Wow, the ride of a lifetime.

Dean Cole

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thanks again for visiting and taking a flight with us. Aerobatics are fun! I appreciate your review – David

A most wonderful gift !

Rated 5 out of 5
October 10, 2022

I received a gift certificate from my lovely wife for an instructional flight with David in his Stearman biplane 03, what a wonderful gift, she has been more than a little bit part of my career in aviation and this sort of caps it all off for me, though I hope to go flying with David again, an aerobatic flight next time!

It was a pleasure to meet David, he put me at ease right away with his friendly disposition, very apparent he loves sharing his passion for airplanes and flight .

A little tour of the Stearman some Q&A and it was time to get aboard, David was patient and helpful as I found the way into the front cockpit. it was a step back in time as David explained the cockpit is as it appeared to a student pilot in the 1940s !

I’d never flown behind a radial engine, the seven cylinders came to live with ease, an idle that purred with a nice smooth rhythm , a pleasant feel. Time for takeoff! David brought on the power, nice and smooth, suddenly we’re airborne, shortest takeoff roll ever for me!

The headset intercom is super nice as David could communicate with me throughout the flight, helping me coordinate turns with rudder, and make turns to a heading by compass without a directional gyro, David said this is what flying by the seat of your pants is, ahh I get that now, if your not using rudder properly it does feel a little off, I think it would keep you honest ,make you a better pilot!

Looking out between the bright yellow wings , seeing the struts and wires, in the open feeling the air, I felt like part of the sky, little wisps of clouds in the clear blue, a full 360 degree view, stunning, bordering on the spiritual, this is flying !

Time to head back, David touched down so easy I hardly felt it, a slight chirp of the tires, like butter, I absolutely loved this experience !

I thank my wife for giving this to me, and I thank David for being such a wonderful host, he is a gentleman and will make you feel welcomed , I enjoyed so much that he shared this with me. I hope to go again .

Also David made an entry in my pilot logbook for an introductory flight, I am a low time Private pilot, not even current, who knows what the future will bring, but now I have PT-17 in my log book, and that makes me smile.

Zed Kalbaugh

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thanks Zed, it was great to meet you and fly with you. So happy you enjoyed. Thank you for the great review!! – David

Best Fathers Day gift ever!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 30, 2022

Dave was an awesome pilot. Very knowledgeable about the aircraft. Made me feel at complete ease throughout the entire time (before, during and after)! My only regret is I didn’t let him take me through a barrel roll (I chickened out)! But now I have an excuse to book my next flight with him! Thanks for quite the memorable experience Dave and team!

Ben Johnson

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Ben. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Father’s Day flight gift, hope to see you again!

Birthday Ride for Our Father

Rated 5 out of 5
August 30, 2022

My brother and I surprised our father with a ride on the T6 Texan. What an incredible day!! You can tell by just being there that David isn’t just there for the business, he’s a true enthusiast and really enjoys talking planes! Our father, who was a former pilot, just truly enjoyed talking about the plane and his experience in the T6. At 80 years old, we could all tell it took him back to those days of doing one thing he loved to do so much! I’m so glad I found David and his truly amazing aircraft. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a thrilling ride in a classic plane.

Gary Trakas

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

It was a pleasure meeting your father and flying with him. I am glad he finally got the chance to fly a T6! David

Once in a lifetime experience!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 18, 2022

Once in a lifetime experience that will always be remembered! I had an incredible time, and could have flown around for hours. Fantastic pilot, very knowledgeable and experienced. As a former Marine fighter aviator, it is obvious that you take all aspects of flying seriously and also ensure the flight is a lot of fun. Cheyenne was great too! Very helpful. I have already recommended it to many people!

Gino Shoults

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

It was a pleasure meeting you and talking with you. Glad you enjoyed!! Great respect for the Marines! -David

Best birthday gift ever !

Rated 5 out of 5
August 15, 2022

I’ve been dropping hints forever about wanting to take a trip in a Biplane. My Wife , for my 70th, came through big time. Dave was awesome and his assistant Cheyenne were amazing. The weather was perfect and we even chased a Bald Eagle on the way back in. Incredible. It was a nice touch to include some Civil War sites on the flight

You get a nice feeling with an experienced pilot , ex fellow Air Force helps, but I would recommend him to anyone.

Thanks for making my Bucket List a whole lot shorter!!

Bob Murphy

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Bob – it was a pleasure meeting you and taking you for your flight. Happy Birthday! David

Amazing, Smooth, Fun Flight!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 9, 2022

As a thrill seeker, this was both thrilling and calming. Dave gave us a tour of the area, did some fun maneuvers and answered our questions. It was a very fun and pleasant experience. Recommended to airplane or history enthusiasts, a date, a fun afternoon or as a gift. It was a very cool experience.

Amanda

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thanks for flying with us! I am glad you enjoyed. – David

Best Flight of my life

Rated 5 out of 5
August 8, 2022

I’ve been waiting since Christmas of 2021 to finally get a chance to fly with Dave Brown in his Stearman. I finally got the chance and it was well worth the wait. Dave was so nice and down to earth, most definitely one of the BEST flight instructors I’ve ever flown with. I took the hour-long aerobatics flight and was super excited to fly with Dave. Even with a 2+ hour drive to the airport, the flight was well worth every minute spent stuck in traffic. Dave took the time to talk with me before the flight and talk about what we were going to do and what I wanted to get out of the flight. During the flight, he walked me through everything we were going to do before we did it and always made sure I was comfortable and ready for whatever came next. Being a pilot myself, he gave me the adventure of a lifetime in just an hour. I wish every flight instructor I flew with was as good as Dave and wish I could fly with him regularly, but alas my wallet does not allow for that. Count yourself lucky if you ever get the opportunity to fly with Dave – it is well worth every penny. He will make sure you have an experience you will never forget.

Jonathan

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Great flying with you Jonathan. We had fun!! I appreciate your kind review. I do hope you can come back again at some point in the future.

Fantastic

Rated 5 out of 5
June 27, 2022

A fantastic experience for our son who is 15 and wants to be a pilot and is also interested in warbirds. David was very personable, great at sharing his passion and knowledge, and walked our son through every step. You could see the smiles all the way from base leg to final approach and the taxi in. Fantastic experience.

Simon Pearce

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thanks for bringing your son out to fly with me. It was great sharing the experience of flying with him!

My YAHOO experience

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2022

I spent most weekends growing up at the local airport. My dad earned his wings in the 40’s flying both the Stearman and Texan and loved talking about them. As a young teen I saw both airplanes at air shows and appreciated his passion though I never had the opportunity to fly in either. Well 55 years later I decided to cross this off my bucket list and discovered Dave’s rides. I booked both back to back and couldn’t wait for that day. Started in the Stearman and then the Texan. We did aerobatics in both and I enjoyed having a fair amount of stick time. SWEET!!!

During the preflight I expressed my desire for a YAHOO moment. Folks, I got what I asked for and more. I will do this again and encourage everybody to do this.

Dale Bates

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Dale – it was great to meet you and provide this experience for you. It was very neat hearing about your father flying these two, great historic planes. Thanks again for choosing our services for your bucket list experience. I am glad it worked out for you and that you enjoyed! – David Brown

FINALLY....... A LONG FLIGHT EXPERIENCE IN THE MAKING!!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 31, 2022

PRESENT DAY………Ok, grab a cold one, sit back and enjoy the next 2 and a half minutes of reading as I explain why you should book your flight with David TODAY! I have always been a plane enthusiast and love flying. I received a 30 minute flight as a gift for Christmas 2015 from my wife Kristin and son Christian. YES, you read that correct, 2015! Schedule conflicts between David and I, scrubbed flights due to bad weather and deployments always found a way to ground me! David assured me the certificate was good with no expiration!

Fast forward 6 1/2 years and an upgrade to an hour “with controls” flight experience. David was a long distance friend that I finally got to meet. With all the conversations and attempts behind us, it was GO DAY! Perfect weather and excitement crept in like a kid on Christmas morning.

David met us with a warm smile and firm handshake and it was like old friends re-uniting. Extremely knowledgeable and down to business, he felt out my experience as we did pre-flight instruction and formalities and just like that…….I was strapped in and we were taxiing to the runway……

Clearance and wheels up we were on our way. The first 20 minutes, David gave an aerial tour of the area and pointed out historical points, local towns and points of interest. Then it was my turn……and just like that I was taken back to the 1940’s in my mind, my feet on the rudders, my hand gripping the stick….. imagining that I was a raw pilot trainee preparing to go to war. David advised me those pilots were expected to solo within the first 8 hours of flight training! A truly humbling thought on of all days, Memorial day, as I controlled the aircraft!

I was given plenty of time to man the controls with guidance and instruction from David.

David took back the controls, explained and walked me through the maneuvers we were going to do and gave me a small taste of G’s as we ate up the sky in his beautiful Stearman!

Ending all to quickly, we made our way back to the runway and slid in on final to a picture perfect landing on a picture perfect day! IF you’ve read this far, thank you! Now go book your flight already, would you!

Dustin Schappell

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Dustin – it was a pleasure to finally meet you and take you for this long awaited flight! Thank you for your service to the Marines. Much respect here! I hope to see you again one day. David

Every time as good as the 1st!!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 19, 2022

Lat week I flew with David for the 4th time. 3rd time in a Stearman, I flew the T6 previously. Each and every time I fly with David, it is like the 1st time. David is extremely knowledgeable about his planes and the local area. The flights themselves are soooo awesome, one of the best experiences of my life. The only thing that comes close to matching the actual flights is David himself. Nicest guy you will ever meet, always a smile on his face!! David and his planes are amazing, everyone should take a ride, you will not regret it!!!

Greg Cull

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thank you for the kind words Greg, it is always a pleasure to see you and your family members. I appreciate your support that helps to keep the old planes flying!

Great Experience!!!!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 13, 2022

We had an amazing day in the air with pilot David Brown! The plane ride was beyond my expectations, but it was the company (David) that made it an amazing time. He was so friendly, knowledgeable, and fun. My family members have flown with David several times, and they keep going back because they have had such a good time. I was able to go with my son, my brother, and my father, and we had the best day! The planes are so cool, I was in the Stearman Biplane, and being in the air was not at all what I expected…it was better!! The passion David has for flying is so apparent and makes for the best experience. When I grow up (I am 40+), I want to be a pilot!

I would recommend everyone do this with your family.

Cindy

Response from Airplane Tours Virginia | Stearman Biplane Rides | Warbird Flights

Thank you Cindy, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family and taking you up for your flight. I am so pleased you enjoyed it!! Hope to see you again. – David

Exciting and informative

Rated 5 out of 5
April 25, 2022

Ride: Very exciting and equally relaxing (thanks to David – pilot). We went to 2000ft, and the views were awesome. I felt very safe when he gave me the control of the plane for a while. It made me to appreciate what navy pilots went through to train and fight. Next veteran day would be more memorable for sure.

Pilot: David was very welcoming and pleasant to talk to. He explained the history of the plane and how various instruments are for and work. I felt very safe with him in back cockpit during the flight.

Ramin J.

Incredible Experience

Rated 5 out of 5
November 30, 2021

My son gifted me with a ride on the T6 Texan on October 19, 2021. I think about it often since the experience was so fantastic. David is so professional in his ability to put you at ease, and he is an exceptional pilot. He was able to show me any maneuver that fighter pilot can perform. I enjoyed the chance to fly and get the controls for a bit and this will always be an experience for me to remember.

Bob Brodie

Awesome!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2, 2021

AWESOME!!! . . . was the word that my son texted me from the cockpit five minutes after take-off! We had booked back-to-flights with David as a gift. We were hoping for good weather and fall foliage and got both on October 15th. The biplane was so stable and the view from 1,500 feet was terrific! David gave us a great ride and a briefing on the countryside and the hour passed by so fast. A little barrel-roll and we were back on the ground much too soon!. We were so pleased!

Jim Kaufman

Blown away

Rated 5 out of 5
October 29, 2021

Today’s fight was one of the greatest experiences of my entire life. David is a class act and it was an honor to meet him and have him take me up. The terminal guys were great too. Can’t wait to do it again.

Kevin J Armstrong

Thrilling!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 27, 2021

Our cousins surprised my husband and me with a flight on your bi-plane. We had no knowledge of those plans. Greg just said, “think of Uncle Donald”. When we turned the corner and saw that gorgeous plane, I know our mouths fell open and we were so excited!! Uncle Donald taught young men to fly during the war in a plane like that one. It was truly a thrill of a lifetime for us both. Thank you for being so kind and helpful with us getting into the plane and taking us on such a great flight!! It was fantastic!! ????????

Mary Ann & Robert Granahan

Had a phenomenal time with David and his new Texan! We were able to go through a few maneuvers and I was able to learn about the aircraft and the basics of flying at the same time. Worth every penny!

11/23/2019

Pierre Marrou

I purchased a ride in the Texan for my boyfriend’s birthday and what a great gift it was! David was so knowledgeable, kind, and flexible with scheduling to make sure we got our ride in before the end of the season. We highly recommend rides in the Texan!

11/23/2019

Shelby Burns

I coordinated a surprise biplane ride for my boyfriend who’s wanted to try this out for months. The pilot and owner of the company, David Brown, was very responsive and accommodating on all fronts — he went out of his way to ensure we had all info needed before the flight and was extremely understanding when our group was running 20 minutes late because of traffic coming from DC. When we arrived, he greeted us warmly and jumped right into the process for the safety review and teaching us fun facts about the historic aircraft. He also doubles as a great photographer ensuring your group has the perfect photos to capture this once in a lifetime experience. I can’t say enough good things about this fun activity and if you have an aviation enthusiast in your family, this is the perfect way to spend a morning or afternoon in Virginia.

10/21/2019

Sarah Badawi

David is a great guy. He made me feel welcome and was informative with all my questions. I had a great time. Can’t wait to go again.

10/14/2019

Darin Bost

On September 22nd David took me for an Ultimate Barnstormer’s ride. It was a childhood dream come true! The aerobatics were spectacular (I had a huge grin on my face! and the sightseeing was scenic and relaxing. The countryside and foothills surrounding the airport look beautiful at 1,500 feet. And they’re even more stunning when viewed from an open-cockpit biplane that’s flying upside down! Plus David is a great tour guide, and he pointed out many interesting sights.

David is also a great host. He let me poke around his hangar, which is a mini-museum full of colorful wall-to-wall aviation memorabilia. And just next door is the other plane David gives rides in: a sleek and fast T-6 Texan! (If you’re interested in visiting the hangars, I strongly suggest that you let David know in advance. You may also want to book the Stearman’s last flight of the day so you can watch its miniature remote-control tug return the hangar’s centerpiece to its home!)

Finally, please don’t think that most of what you pay is profit for David. Quite the contrary! Bear in mind that after he’s paid for fuel, insurance, hangar space, maintenance, and various other expenses, he still has to pay hefty taxes! So if you enjoy the flight and can spare an extra $20 – $40, please consider tipping your pilot! (It’s certainly not expected, but it will be greatly appreciated! : )

2019/09/26 at 3:47 pm

Michael Schoen

Went on an aerobatic flight with David on 9/21 – it was absolutely fantastic! The open cockpit is great. You’re behind a windshield so you don’t get wind in your face, but you can see anything and everything around you. David was excellent and had very smooth maneuvers that didn’t leave your brain rattling inside your head like some modern roller coasters. Smooth doesn’t mean boring, though – we pulled 3.5 positive g’s on at least one maneuver. If you have any maneuvers you’ve ever seen on a movie that you’d like David to try, let him know. I asked David for an aileron roll, barrel roll, loop, spin, and split-S. After that I told him it was his choice and to just have at it. Honestly, you should add this to your bucket list.

David is also a great host. He let me poke around his hangar, which is a mini-museum full of colorful wall-to-wall aviation memorabilia. And just next door is the other plane David gives rides in: a sleek and fast T-6 Texan! (If you’re interested in visiting the hangars, I strongly suggest that you let David know in advance. You may also want to book the Stearman’s last flight of the day so you can watch its miniature remote-control tug return the hangar’s centerpiece to its home!)

Finally, please don’t think that most of what you pay is profit for David. Quite the contrary! Bear in mind that after he’s paid for fuel, insurance, hangar space, maintenance, and various other expenses, he still has to pay hefty taxes! So if you enjoy the flight and can spare an extra $20 – $40, please consider tipping your pilot! (It’s certainly not expected, but it will be greatly appreciated! : )

2019/09/26 at 3:47 pm

Matt Smothers

A thrill of a lifetime. Mr Brown was so much fun, full of information and what a plane! I cannot express fully the joy of flying in that glorious old plane. And of course, I got to move it a round a bit in the air and left me experience what my dad did starting out in WW2 in one of these. Never forget this awesome experience. Thank you so much!!!!

2019/09/17 at 6:51 pm

David Moore

Absolutely amazing experience. I flew last year during The Stearman Fly-In and again this year. Flying in this Stearman has definitely been a highlight in my life.

2019/09/07 at 8:00 pm

Heather Dickson

I bought a gift certificate for an hour of “The Ultimate Barnstormer” for my fiancé, Marks, for Christmas of 2018. Obviously he had to wait to use it until it was warm enough to fly in an open cockpit airplane like the Stearman.

With our summer looking pretty busy, it took a while before Marks availability to commit to a time for the flight. Once it looked like his schedule and the weather would align, he reached out to David via email. David replied and within hours they had the flight scheduled! David gets back to you very quickly with options that fit your needs!

Marks left the house this morning with an idea of what to expect but that was about it. His flight was at 2pm and at 3:35pm I got the best series of texts that you can get when you give someone a gift like this. It’s way better than “holy crap! I didn’t know I could throw up that much!” Needless to say, it was a kick ass gift, he had an awesome time, and I’m at a loss as to how I’ll top that next Christmas!

Although I wasn’t there, I was told that David was an excellent pilot and incredibly professional. I can confirm that the process for purchasing the flight was very easy and that David provided the gift certificate very quickly, even though it was right before Christmas.

I can’t thank David and Stearman BiPlane Rides enough for providing an experience like this. It’s a bucket list item and I can’t wait to check it off my list as well!

2019/08/19 at 11:24 pm

Rachel Larratt

I’ll start with, anyone with even the slightest appreciation or interest in aviation should take a flight with them. Even if aerobatics isn’t your thing, you should take a scenic flight. The aircraft is gorgeous and well maintained, the views are gorgeous and there’s nothing like the sound and smell of that big radial putting away out front in an open cockpit. Unforgettable!

Thank you David! I had an absolute BLAST on my 1 hour aerobatic flight with you! Thank you for letting me fly so much! You are one heck of a good pilot and you fly such a lovely plane beautifully! I look forward to many more flights with you! Never thought I’d have Stearman time in my logbook and it certainly won’t be the only entry now.

2019/08/19 at 11:23 pm

Marks Beitins

It was awesome and David Brown is the most gracious and knowledgeable host to this incredible adventure!! A definite must ….I will do this again.

2019/08/11 at 9:53 pm

Constance Fisher

Well I have done it again! Monday, August 5, was my second flight with Dave Brown and his truly authentic Stearman biplane. My first ride (May 2018) was a one hour sightseeing flight, which was highly enjoyable. The second ride was the 30 minute Aerobatic flight that was exciting, exhilarating and downright unforgettable. Furthermore, Dave was able to show his marvelous abilities as a pilot while also being very informative during the flight. As I told him after Monday’s flight…”I will be back.

2019/08/08 at 3:38 pm

Richard Zimmerman

Cannot believe I waited fifty years to try this! I had always heard stories of people taking their first flying experience and being hooked. Now I know why. I had the privilege of experience firsthand the thrill of riding in a 1941 Stearman #3 Biplane for the first time and I was Impressed. The flight was smooth and exciting. David Brown was skilled and knowledgeable pilot who walked me through everything he was doing. I felt completely safe in his care. His experience was evident it the meticulous attention to detail he displayed in all facets of the flight. Nothing could have been better on a warm summer afternoon than cruising to 1500 feet with the wind blowing in my air and the Blue Ridge Mountains rising in the distance. The perspective on the area was mind-blowing. Dave’s knowledge of the and geography of the area was top notched. I am grateful for the experience and heartily recommend his services to anyone looking to experience flying with a true professional.

2019/08/05 at 8:30 am

Bryan Brooks

Acrobatic flight was an anniversary gift from my wife. Dave took me up and gave me not only the best 60 min of flying I have had in many years but he taught me a lot about the of the plane and some of the systems. Dave was professional, friendly, and a very good pilot. This is something that should be on everyone’s “bucket list”. Highly recommended..

2019/08/04 at 6:58 pm

Sahwn Coakley

I chose David to give my 13-year-old granddaughter a unique flight experience. We had a beautiful sunny day for seeing the Virginia countryside from his Stearman – including some hands-on time with her on the controls. David has a great sense of people’s airborne comfort zone, and he never put her in a situation in which she was uncomfortable. Naturally, I had to go with the full acrobatic ride – which also was a GREAT experience. The Stearman is a gentle aircraft, even in its acro maneuvers. David is a superb and friendly pilot. It’s good that the cockpit doesn’t have a cr card reader, or we’d have flown all day. You really should try this experience; you won’t regret it.

2019/07/28 at 8:09 pm

Richard Tullos

David was a great pilot and guide and the aircraft is truly unique. I had an amazing time. I strongly recommend for anyone regardless if you’re a first time flyer or a seasoned pilot

2019/07/07 at 8:43 pm

Jim Pippine

One of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve ever had. If you’re a fan of aviation his knowledge will blow you away and even if you’re not, its just flat out a great time. The Stearman is so smooth its like flying in a Cadillac. I wish I could go up with Dave every day it truly is an absolute amazing time. Thank you so much! If anyone is reading this post please do yourself a favor, contact Dave and get in the sky now!

June 24, 2019

Ken Iverson

Dave Brown is a class act! His Stearman Biplane ride was an absolutely amazing experience and the day could not have been better! Flying with him and on a treasure of a plane is SO WORTH IT! His sweet assistant was the perfect addition to getting us all safely in/out of the plane and she even took the time to play with the kids!!

Hanging out with family and friends in Dave’s airplane hanger will be a very special memory for us to have, especially the kids!!! They LOVED IT!! And we all felt so safe and at ease while we and the kids flew around in a piece of !! Go BOOK YOUR FLIGHT!!

2019/06/20 at 6:06 pm

Crystal Gray Iverson

This was an absolutely great experience. The aircraft is in outstanding shape inside and out. The pilot, David, is great, as he gives you easy to understand instructions. The aircraft is fun to fly and really maneuvers like a dream. David even took the controls and did some flying of his own, demonstrating how nimble the Stearman is to fly. No wonder the Army Air Corps used these planes as trainers. I would recommend this experience because you get to fly, look over the beautiful area of Warrenton, and just get a bit of about WWII aircraft training. Big thanks to David!!!!

2019/06/12 at 6:25 pm

Alan Dove

Took a one hour sightseeing flight yesterday. The word I would use to describe it: AWESOME! From the of the aircraft to the inflight descriptions of sights seen, it truly was a unique experience. I would recommend flying with Mr. Brown unreservedly. If you want to see the beautiful hunt country of Virginia from a different perspective, you’ve come to the right place. I wish you CAVU if you go!

Robert Dryden

An amazing, phenomenal experience! David is equal parts professional and friendly, and he’s not just there to give you a plane ride; he’s there to give you an excellent learning experience as well. Dave was very accommodating of my tight travel schedule, as I don’t live in the lower 48, and kept me up to date with the weather in the days before the flight. I picked the Acrobatic Flight, and I’m very glad I did; I recommend it highly!

It had been years since I’d taken the controls of an airplane, and Dave helped rekindle that dream; the Stearman is definitely no Cherokee! Also, it’s not just Dave; do yourself a favor and come in a little earlier so you can shoot the breeze with the locals at the airfield. Everyone’s friendly, and it’s nice to be able to just sit and chill at the airport, especially if you’ve only experienced the cold sterility and crowding of big-city, high-volume airports.

Dave, I can’t thank you enough for the experience, and I’ll be definitely be coming back for a flight the next time I’m in VA!

PS: The biplane has a camera mount facing the cockpit; bring a GoPro or similar to take home a video of the experience!

2019/05/06 at 3:31 pm

Eduardo Rivera

David, thanks so much for a once in a lifetime experience! It was a perfect day including the breeze. The flight was a birthday gift from my wife and I could not have been happier. The flight, scenery, talks before and during the flight made it truly memorable. I have always loved historic planes and cars, but flying in one and going back in history was truly amazing. I will definitely be flying with you again! Thank you.

2019/05/05 at 7:15 pm

Mike Kania

David showed me a great time during my You Fly It experience in the Stearman.
It was a beautiful Spring day, and I was able to check a couple of experiences off my bucket list.
I’ve wanted to ride in a Stearman for a long time, and getting to fly it was icing on the cake!
I highly recommend taking a ride with David if you’re an aviation fan, and have never ridden in an open cockpit aircraft; and don’t be afraid to take the stick when offered!

2019/04/24 at 11:15 am

Cameron Jones

This is one of the most exciting rides I have ever taken. Being in control of an airplane and the experience of yanking and banking, hard turns from left to right are better than any roller coaster ever invented. HANDS DOWN!!! Thank you David Brown for such an awesome aviation adventure that will always be remembered!

2019/04/20 at 3:09 pm

Marcus Haggins

Once in a lifetime experience! I gifted a piloting lesson with David to my boyfriend, a big WWII fan, who had an incredible flight and can’t stop raving about it. Thanks, David!

2018/12/05 at 10:39 am

Steph Underwood

Incredible experience. I’ve flown in small aircraft before but nothing this classic and beautiful. David was an excellent host and clearly loved making each ride the perfect experience! Thank you David, this was worth every penny and I’d come again in a heartbeat!

2018/12/05 at 10:35 am

Chase Beasley

David, Thank you for taking me up in your bi-plane and allowing me to be a pilot for ten minutes. We had a chamber of commerce weather day for the flight with blue skies and beautiful white clouds. Your knowledge and pride of ownership made for a great experience. It was a bucket list item I can check off that I didn’t even know I wanted { thanks to my wife ]. I would love to come back and do the acrobatic flight. Thanks for a wonderful experience, Gary

2018/11/13 at 10:42 pm

Gary Kelly

This experience was first rate in every aspect. The aircraft was meticulously maintained and in excellent condition. The pilot was early, was waiting on us, was friendly, gave an excellent tour of the aircraft and overview of what we were going to do. He has over 5000 + hours in the aircraft and it surely shows. He was engaging, affable and courteous. The flight was even better than I had anticipated and was worth every penny. Even though I have had my private pilots license since age 16 and have flown Apache helicopters for the Army, I had always dreamed of a ride in an open cockpit biplane. For me, it was an experience of a life time!!! Book this experience, you will enjoy every minute of it!!

Charles Young

AWESOME!!! SUPER!!! FANTASTIC!!! WOW!!! This was one of those experiences of a lifetime. My kids got me this ride as a birthday present. I used to fly as a non-pilot for the Air Force. I’ve flown with friends a few times in small aircraft. I have many years of flying computer flight simulators. This was a crowning experience to be able to take control of a real plane and do some basic maneuvers. The plane just gleams. It is a testament to Dave Brown’s love of flying and his love of sharing that with others. Compared to others it is a Cadillac (or Mercedes) – very solid. Dave is very personable and provides history and stories of his flying this historic aircraft. He goes into detail on the controls, instrumentation and flight characteristics based on his perception of your flying knowledge. He exudes the love of flight. This experience is more than well worth it for anybody that has the slightest love of flying!

2018/11/13 at 10:42 pm

Alan Strayer

This was a truly memorable experience. The conditions were perfect. David inspired confidence as a pilot and instructor. He was knowledgeable, patient, and helpful. Getting to actually fly the plane for a while in a controlled manner was nerve wracking but tremendous fun; the wing-overs, low passes, stalls and dives that David then did were an exhilarating bonus. It all went by too fast. Highly recommended for anyone who likes planes or WWII history. Or Both!

2018/10/10 at 5:16 pm

Gavin Shire

What a fantastic experience! The airplane is awesome and David is a great pilot! The ride and the views are amazing. David is great with information about the history of the airplane, and very much like a tour guide, pointing out interesting views and sights on the ground. Would definitely do this again. A bargain!

2018/07/28 at 7:07 pm

Greg Patterson

My sister and I gave our mom the 30 minute aerobatic flight as at 56th birthday gift and it was worth every penny! David was a great historian and even better pilot. His passion and insight for aviation and his vintage stearman added to the overall experience. David was very accommodating as we booked only a week prior to our flight. There were no hidden fees or added prices which was a huge plus for us. Flying with David was incredible! I will be recommending this thrilling experience to anyone looking for adventure. The three of us agreed this was one of the coolest thrills EVER!!

2018/07/23 at 9:53 am

Catherine Berry

I received a one-hour flight as a gift and it was the experience of a lifetime. Words cannot describe the sensation of spins, stalls, and aerobatics in an open-cockpit biplane. Thank you for an experience I’ll never forget!

2018/05/28 at 6:21 pm

Kevin Herbert

I’ve never flown before in my life in any type of plane, so I thought I’d go on a plane ride for my birthday. So I find Brown’s plane rides and they’ll actually let YOU fly the plane!? I’m still smiling ear to ear, I went up with Brian, may 12th, who was above and beyond as an instructor and to make the whole experience feel comfortable and safe. I want to go back already and I plan on it…best money I’ve ever spent on something I’ll never forget

2018/05/14 at 9:46 pm

Audie Blazo

Because of my beloved daughters giving me a gift certificate for a 1 hour flight, I was able to have a memorable and very enjoyable experience of flying in a vintage airplane with a warm, friendly and very knowledgeable pilot Dave Brown on Monday, May 7. The weather was great, Dave answered all my questions, but the highlight for me was flying the plane. I know Dave said I had the controls, however I am sure Dave was doing more of the flying than me. It was still a thrill and I will return for more.
Thanks Dave for a wonderful flight

2018/05/12 at 10:02 am

Richard Zimmerman

What a great time I had flying in this vintage aircraft. Dave is so friendly and experience which creates a memorable flight. I really love flying the Stearman, it’s easy to follow Dave’s instructions.

Thanks again Dave.

2018/05/07 at 9:53 am

Jim Church

I have been an avid lover of Warplanes ever since I first could utter the words “F-16 Fighting Falcon”. So to be able to say I had the opportunity to take full control of a WWII fighter plane is still so surreal to me. My experience with the incredibly polite, informative and enthusiastic Mr Brown was one of the best days of my life! Not only did we get to take a flight that I will remember for the rest of my life, I also got to talk all things aviation and history for hours! Highly recommend a flight with Mr Brown for anyone who has even the slightest interest in flying. You won’t regret it!

2018/05/03 at 4:48 pm

Peter Macartney

Mr. Brown,
First, let me thank you for your undivided attention on Saturday’s flight. Next, I must confess to you that since landing and leaving the airfield, the whole experience seems to have been a beautiful dream. It was the most exhilarating experience of my life. I need not explain in detail the connection I felt with the flying machine, your airplane. Until the next time I feel that again, I will be dreaming.
Thank you, Sir

2018/05/02 at 8:14 pm

Jason A. Donadi

This fight experience was given to me from a special friend for my birthday out of aspirations for me to fly when I was a child she made my one dream come true with the help of David Brown and his experience of flying this is absolutely the best experience I’ve ever experienced in my life and I’m more than happy to express this with others and friends and recommend them for the same experience that I’ve enjoyed myself to be honest I was nervous when I was getting ready to go up into the air but after a few talks with the pilot and him walking me through everything he made it very easy and very enjoyable absolutely one of the best times in my life!

2018/04/29 at 3:33 pm

Matthew Pettiford

I had a chance to fly with Dave on April 26th –an amazingly beautiful, clear day. The Stearman is in pristine condition and the flight was FANTASTIC! The take-off and landing were smooth, the plane flies very stably under Dave’s control, and whether you’re looking for relaxed sight-seeing or exhilarating aerobatics, Dave is an excellent pilot and will accommodate to your interests. He knows a lot about the history and mechanics of the aircraft and is an excellent tour guide. The aircraft and the flight were everything I hoped they would be, and I highly recommend booking a flight. I’ll likely come back once or twice per year! Whether you’re an aerospace engineer and pilot like me or have never flown before and would like to try it, this is an experience you’ll treasure for the rest of your life!

2018/04/27 at 8:54 am

Jesse Maxwell

David is a great tour guide and a great pilot. It has been awhile since I have been in the cockpit and he made me realize how much I missed it. Highly recommended for first timers and old hats!

2018/04/23 at 6:26 pm

Spencer Stone

This is a bucket list gotta-do!!! If you want to feel a connection to aviation of the past … the open cockpit … the pulsating/throbbing of a prop/piston-driven biplane, you gotta check this out. My biggest problem was my sore face after — from smiling and laughing throughout the 60 minute flight! Dave provided a fantastic experience and did not hesitate to communicate to me at the level I wanted — whether to just feel comfortable and confident on what was going to happen during the flight, or the process of maintaining the aircraft, or the role the aircraft played over its 75+ year history… Dave can and will go into the detail you want. My family got this ride for a 60th birthday gift and as a connection to my Dad, who trained British cadets in WWII in this type of plane. This was an experience that accomplished that and also connected me with another place in time. This was a great experience. Dave was great, the plane was great, the ride was great. And while I had this originally as an activity on my bucket list… I think it is an activity that I will figure how to repeat on an annual basis! Thanks, Dave!

2017/07/28 at 1:16 pm

Chuck Whitacre

My wife and sons set me up with this flight. It was fantastic. Dave is a great pilot, and it was a great adventure. The vintage Stearman was perfect. I highly recommend this adventure to anyone who enjoys controlled thrills. Dave was also very friendly to my grandson who was a spectator at the airport. Thanks, Dave for a great time.

2017/07/12 at 10:12 am

Al

My husband gave me the experience for my 50th birthday. It was exhilarating and I tell anybody who will listen about Dave, his Stearman, and the unforgettable rolls and loops I was a part of. Looking forward to going again!

2017/07/10 at 11:17 am

B. Rogers

This was a gift for my younger brother. Mr. Brown was very cheerful and accommodating in answering all of my brother’s questions and providing history about the plane and information on how this type of plane was used during WWII. My brother requested a couple of special maneuvers and Mr. Brown was able to accommodate. It was a great experience all around.

2017/07/06 at 11:22 am

Paul Gallagher

I am extremely impressed with Dave Brown and the whole experience. Dave was very engaging and candid about what we would do and what he expected from me as the passenger. He put Marion at ease with his answers and description of the flight and the precautions taken. The area of the flight is a beautiful rural valley with the background of the Blue Ridge mountains. I was able to fly the airplane and do some simple maneuvers; stalls, turns, wing-overs with Dave leading me through the maneuver. For someone who has not flown an airplane in 40 years it was a thrill hard to describe. Thank you, Dave Beautiful airplane and fantastic pilot.

2017/07/06 at 11:21 am

Dennis Voth

My siblings and I bought our Dad a one hour flight for Father’s Day/his birthday last year. He used it this spring and it was such an amazing experience. Dave was so knowledgeable and friendly he put everyone at ease. He not only explained what was going to happen but he took some time to talk to my grandfather who is a WWII veteran about the types of planes and the history behind them. My dad was able to take a GoPro with him in the plane so we have a hour of footage and memories to share for years to come. I would definitely recommend this as a gift for an adventure lover or plane enthusiast. Such an awesome experience overall. Thanks for showing my dad such a good time!

Melissa Toms

If you are collecting experiences, then this is one experience you must have! The plane is a beauty. Dave is the real deal. And the flight is incomparable. A great gift from my children and son in law. Thanks to everyone!

2016/11/26 at 4:26 pm

Mike Murphy

This 30 min flight was a dream come true! Perfect weather, beautiful scenic views, amazing open cockpit biplane and a wonderful pilot! It felt like being a part of a thrilling movie but it was real!
This flight experience is the best gift you can find ?
And redeeming a gift certificate & booking the date was so easy!
I can’t recommend David highly enough!!!

2016/11/10 at 10:55 pm

Alisa Foytik

I highly recommend this for anyone that likes to fly. David was great. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. I got the ultimate barnstormer and loved it. My only regret was I was a bit timid when he let me fly the plane. David explained the sites, the plane and all the maneuvers we did. Loved being in an open cockpit and all the acrobatics. David really enjoys what he does and he shares that with you. I can’t say enough good things about the experience.

2016/11/06 at 1:50 pm

Skip Bowser

I’ve had a lot of fun in general aviation… but my hour in Stearman 03 with Dave was definitely the most fun I’ve ever had in an airplane!

I got my sport pilot certificate a few months ago and decided to celebrate with an “Ultimate Barnstormer’s” flight this past weekend (on Sept. 2016). I’m glad to say it was worth every penny, and I’ll never forget it.

After letting me take the plane through some turns, stalls, accelerated stalls, and spins (with his close guidance), Dave started to demonstrate aerobatics, beginning with rolls and loops. They were a blast! Since I was comfortable (not at all queasy) and eager to do more, we did pushovers, hammerhead stalls, Cuban eights, wingovers… and other maneuvers I’m probably forgetting.

Throughout the flight, but especially during aerobatics, Dave was great about explaining what he was doing/helping to give me a feel for the airplane. He also tailored the experience to what I was interested in doing: since I was loving aerobatics, he gave me the works — and even let me do a loop myself!

The Stearman is just an incredible plane — responsive, fun, forgiving, and tough as nails. And Dave’s a great (and very safe) pilot who clearly loves what he does. He knows how to handle the Stearman; even the extended series of aerobatics he demonstrated to conclude my flight were very smooth. I had a blast, and I can’t recommend the experience highly enough.

2016/09/18 at 12:47 am

Riley Roberts

Took my first flight today! The pilot was absolutely amazing. He was very personable and very knowledgeable about the aircraft and it’s history. The experience itself was out of this world. words cannot describe the excitement i felt up in the air. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone!! If you are reading this book a flight immediately. You won’t be disappointed!! Thanks again Mr. Brown!

2016/09/17 at 9:59 pm

Brett Kysar

I spent an hour in the open cockpit of Dave Brown’s Stearman . We flew around sightseeing for a few minutes, then I got a quick rundown on controlling the plane and took the controls.

Flight Sims can teach you what you need to do, but they can’t give you the feel of a stick vibrating in your hand like the pulse of a live animal. You can read how the torque of a radial engine makes a plane want to bank left, but you don’t experience it tugging against your hand like a headstrong pony. You don’t experience how wind gusts will make you wander around the sky like a drunken sailor if you under or over correct. Flying a plane for the first time was both the scariest and most exhilarating thing I’ve done in my life.

Then we did aerobatics. We did a full complement of air show stunts capped off with flat spin from 4000 feet, a series of wingovers, then a buzz of the Air Show field at 140mph. . . 20 feet off the ground. Roller coasters are forever ruined for me. They just don’t compare.

I’ll remember this day the rest of my life! Thank you Dave for trusting me with the controls of your wonderful airplane, and giving me a true bucket list experience!

2016/09/17 at 6:26 pm

Doug James

Fantastic!! I was given the gift of a flight with Dave as a birthday present. As a former pilot that hasn’t flown recently, I was really excited and had high expectations. Dave is so personable and professional, and of course, a skilled pilot, that will have anyone impressed with the beauty and capability of his well-maintained Stearman. Thank you Dave for lighting the “flying bug” in me again!

2016/08/25 at 7:24 am

Jim Watson

I bought a bi-plane ride for my Fiancé for his birthday and he absolutely loved it! David was really friendly, and patiently answered all of my questions about safety and procedure. He made both of us feel really comfortable before they flew. I had bought the wrong flight on accident and David was extremely accommodating and worked with us to fix it. I would highly recommend David!
2016/08/15 at 9:21 pm

Farheena

Truly an amazing day. Everyone involved in the experience was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of flying in an open air cockpit. Honestly one of the most exciting things I’ve ever done. Now I want to get my pilot’s license!

2016/08/03 at 10:11 pm

Zachary Smith

David Brown, owner, operator and pilot is exceptionally accommodating. As a 32-year career Air Force pilot, I found David to be knowledgeable, proficient and highly professional. Despite my advanced age, I would happily book another flight. It was great. Thanks, Dave

2016/06/21 at 10:38 pm

James LeClair

It’s a great ride. I especially enjoyed Davids ability to explain the history and operation of the aircraft. His skill and enthusiasm are quite impressive.

2016/06/18 at 6:42 am

Roger Karmes

Thank you Pilot David for our back to back flights!!! The Stearman brought each of us to new heights to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary! Jesse is still smiling about his acrobatic flight experience; and I mean STILL smiling. Wish you could have heard him telling his 95 year old mother all about it! I loved my sightseeing flight, so smooth and untethered from earth. It was a special way to celebrate a special day. APA

2016/04/25 at 7:01 pm

Amy Peck Abraham

I want you to know how much I enjoyed the flight. It was a real high point for me (pun not intended) and the culmination of something I have wanted to do for over 20 years. It was such a delight to get into the air in your beautiful airplane. Your love of flying enhanced my experience. I am very grateful to my brother for providing me this experience as a gift. Thank you for such a special day.

With best wishes and keep flying!

2016/04/23 at 8:27 pm

Candace D. Kent

I did the 30-minute “you fly it” flight about a week ago, and was the first flight of the season. What an experience! David Brown (the owner/pilot) is a joy to fly with, as he explains exactly what’s happening throughout the experience, and tailors it to your level of comfort and skill. I felt challenged and had the adrenaline coursing the entire time, but always knew I was in good hands. What an experience it is flying a biplane! I’d also like to add that David is easy to work with in setting up the flight, very informal and a genuinely nice guy. The flight couldn’t have gone any better, in my opinion. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!

2016/04/15 at 10:02 pm

Stephen Brannon

I bought this as a gift for my wife for her 25th birthday and she absolutely loved every bit of the experience. My wife is a thrill seeker (already having skydive twice) and was simply amazed by the capabilities of the biplane. She highly recommends it to anyone who is seeking a great experience.

Also, Dave was extremely nice and very professional. His passion for biplanes was very noticeable which made the experience all that much better.

I asked my wife after they had landed, which was more fun, the biplane ride or skydiving. Without hesitating she replied, “biplane ride by far!” She also was able to take control of the biplane and fly it for a bit.

The excitement on her face at the end was priceless. She wanted to go right back up and do it again!

2015/11/10 at 5:18 pm

Ibrahim Issa

The Stearman bi-planes have been coming to Galesburg, Il since I was a kid back in the seventies. I always thought it would be fun to ride in one. My family bought me a acrobatic ride for my birthday, and I was able to go up on 9/11/2015 at the Galesburg airport. It was one of the great experiences of my life. If you like amusement rides, you will love this. Thank you Dave and Brian for making my day. I will recommend it to all my friends and family.

2015/09/23 at 8:56 am

Rick

Erik Anderson
patandotis@yahoo.com
71.206.1.221
If there’s anyway to rate an experience an 11 out of 10, this is the one I’d use that for! As a former Navy carrier-based jet pilot with over 3,000 hours in various conditions, I’ve had some memorable flight experiences…this one ranks in the Top Ten for most positive memories. A beautiful day with an enthusiastic and skilled pilot flying an immaculately maintained aircraft — folks, they don’t come any better than this. Dave — thanks so much — it was a great experience!

Thank you. I had a wonderful time at Air Show and the ride was unbelievable. What a great plane! I look forward to doing it again.

2015/08/16 at 7:13 pm

Jeff Post

If there’s any way to rate an experience an 11 out of 10, this is the one I’d use that for! As a former Navy carrier-based jet pilot with over 3,000 hours in various conditions, I’ve had some memorable flight experiences…this one ranks in the Top Ten for most positive memories. A beautiful day with an enthusiastic and skilled pilot flying an immaculately maintained aircraft — folks, they don’t come any better than this. Dave — thanks so much — it was a great experience!

Thank you. I had a wonderful time at Air Show and the ride was unbelievable. What a great plane! I look forward to doing it again.

2015/08/16 at 7:13 pm

Erik Anderson

This may very well be one of the coolest things I’ve ever done, taking control of an open-cockpit plane is the definition of exhilarating. Dave Brown is an excellent instructor and pilot with an infectious passion for aviation and American history via the Stearman plane. I would highly recommend this experience for all.

2015/07/31 at 11:36 pm

Jackson Adolph

Great awesome loved it im 14 years old and have dreams of becoming a pilot myself and this is honestly the best experience ive ever had with flying thankyou so much Dave your the best ?

2015/07/02 at 9:03 pm

Nicholas Plumer

Dave Brown was outstanding. He was friendly, knowledgeable, personable, and super-talented. Everyone at the airport raved about his skills/talent, and a former WWII pilot couldn’t stop describing his abilities and comparing him to the very “best.” My husband had a BLAST — couldn’t stop talking about it and is waiting for the next ticket, I think. We’ll probably be back –it was quite a drive from home– but so worth it. If you want a great ride, in a great plane, with a great pilot — this is your opportunity!! THANKS!!!

2015/06/26 at 9:19 am

Barry Turnmeyer

Just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed meeting you, and what terrific fun we both had on our flights! There really is nothing that compares to being airborne with the cool wind rushing by and playing in the sky! We will be back…..and for Ron, even after 40 years of flying professionally, it’s always a thrill to go up! Thanks so much!

2015/06/18 at 10:11 pm

Tracy Michael

I took my aerobatic thrill flight on 6/13/15 and it was FABULOUS!! David took me up and we did all the maneuvers. It was so much fun that I had him do them all again!! And there are few people anywhere as customer-service-minded as David. The entire experience was superb!!

2015/06/14 at 10:24 pm

Greg Christian

Bought myself a barnstormer package for my birthday and Dave was able to schedule me on my actual birthday (a Thursday afternoon)! Very smooth ride from take off to landing. The aerial acrobatics should NOT be missed. Nothing scary, just momentary thrills!
A BIG thank you to Dave for an exciting moment in time I will remember for years to come!

2015/06/11 at 11:42 pm

Wes Holly

Awesome! Simply Awesome! My wife blessed me with the best birthday gift ever, with a flight with Dave in his Stearman. The weather(after the rain)was perfect, the Stearman performed flawlessly, and Dave gave excellent instruction with tremendous piloting skills. I have flown in many different types of planes, but the flight in the Stearman tops them all. Dave has taken great care of his Stearman and he takes great care of his customers. Thanks again Dave, and I will definitely be back for many more flights!

2015/06/01 at 10:51 pm

Steve Martin

My wife got me the Ultimate Barnstormer flight for my birthday. This was by far the best flight experience I have ever had. David is a wonderful pilot and very enthusiastic. I would recommend this flight to everyone!

2015/04/19 at 4:28 pm

John

As a Christmas present my husband bought me a 30 minute flight in which I also got the chance to actually fly the Stearman. Even before the flight I thought this was a great present. I have always loved to see these amazing planes fly, but now that I have taken the flight it was even more amazing. David was such a great teacher of what to do and his easy manner and approach to everything was fantastic. Very professional and allowed me to ask questions, not in a hurry. It was apparent that David loves to fly and share this with others. Having flown with both Air Force and Army pilots in the past I could tell David has Air Force training which is tops in my book. My husband said it was going to be hard to top this present but for me a repeat of this one would be perfect as far as I am concerned. Thanks David for the wonderful flight experience and opportunity to live out a dream. One more thing off the bucket list. (I will probably add it to the list again since it was so much fun.)

2014/08/10 at 8:33 pm

Judy McDaniel

THANK YOU so much for one of the most incredible times in my life. I absolutely loved the flight. I wish I had more money to fly anytime. Maybe when I win the lottery. You made my birthday extra special and I cannot thank you enough for a truly enjoyable time. If you are ever looking for a recommendation let me know I would be more than happy to write one for you.

2014/08/09 at 9:38 pm

Karen Taylor

Just a note of thanks for the bucket list check off item for a ‘Flight in a Stearman’ that you made possible for my friend Ken. The experience was not only a success, it was everything that he had hoped for and more. From our initial meeting at hanger #29 to the post flight push back of that beautiful airplane it was an event of a lifetime. I had hoped for the open cockpit smells, radial engine symphony, singing of the air through the wires and, maybe a loop. I was overjoyed to learn that, with constant feedback, and narration he rode through a loop, barrel roll, Cuban eight, hammer head turn, and a spin (without the aid of a vomit bag). Now that’s a Stearman ride! Your demeanor and dialog throughout our visit indicated to us that you are a highly competent professional who thoroughly enjoys what he is doing and who also wants his client to enjoy the experience as well. You certainly accomplished both with distinction. I thank you and Ken thanks you. Best regards……

2014/07/26 at 4:30 pm

David Harry

My wife and kids booked me a flight with Dave as a Christmas present. Riding in an open cockpit biplane has been something I have wanted to do most of my life. Wow! What an experience. What a pilot. Dave and the Stearman are both top shelf! This flight was everything I had imagined and more. We made it a family day, ages 3-86 and we all had a great time. I think this event is first of several in our family.

2014/07/13 at 7:42 am

Mike

I’m a private pilot who wanted to do some unusual attitude training. I saw Dave and his Stearman at the Flying Circus and realized there could not be a more fun way to get the training I was looking for! Dave was super friendly and very knowledgable. We took the Stearman out to the practice area and I did accelerated stalls, spins and various other maneuvers with Dave’s guidance. He also did some aerobatic maneuvers as a way to demonstrate aerodynamic forces at the extreme edges of flying. By the time the flight was over I had learned a ton and done it in style in an open cockpit.

If all you have ever flown is a trainer you owe it to yourself to see what fun flying can be!

2014/06/20 at 9:18 pm

Michael

Thank you so much for the amazing day you gave my dad this past weekend for Father’s Day. He was so surprised and couldn’t have been more excited once he saw your PT-17 Stearman, what a beauty! We thought this sightseeing flight was going to be a once in a lifetime experience, but I think he will be back for many future outings! Up next is the aerobatic flight. Thank you also for explaining the history of the plane, so interesting…and for just being so cool! You are an awesome pilot. Thank you for everything! See you soon!

2014/06/18 at 9:03 pm

Allene Gagliano

David,

Thank you so much for letting me, for just a moment, feel like I was that young Lieutenant flying his Bird Dog again. I have re-lived our flight many times in my mind since we landed. My kids are amazed that I could remember anything and had the guts to go up. I cherish your compliment when I was trying a few turns and you said “ I can tell you have flown before”. Of course you were polite and did not mention that I was not controlling my altitude very well. I remember the days when all that would have been done correctly without even thinking about it and considered “ Just another day in the air over Germany”

John Cahoon, 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment

2014/06/13 at 11:47 pm

John Cahoon

Hello, Dave,

Thank you so much for making this “the greatest gift my mother has ever received”.  I have received more ‘thank you’s’ from her than I can possibly count!

I wanted to express my appreciation to Dave for providing what my mother described as “the greatest gift she has ever received”. My mother’s birthday and Mother’s Day often coincide. My mother turned 80 years old this year, so I wanted this birthday to be special. Dave Brown insured that was the case!

My mother went on the one hour sightseeing flight with Dave. He could not have been more wonderful! He showed great patience and understanding in the way he explained things to her and he did a phenomenal job getting her into and out of the plane. (As I said….this was in celebration of her 80th birthday!) My mother loved the airplane, she thought it was beautiful; but the day would not have been as great without Dave’s professionalism and understanding.

I have recommended the experience to all of my friends and I plan to go myself. It is one of the best and most unique gifts that you could provide for a birthday, Mother’s Day or Father’s Day. We attended the Flying Circus Airshow that same afternoon. It included beautiful airplanes and many dedicated and highly skilled pilots. When talking to the pilots after the show, you could tell how much everyone loved what they do. Thank you Dave for ensuring that my mother had the “greatest experience of her life” (her words, not mine).

2014/05/22 at 2:52 pm

Donna Huston

I am writing this a little after the fact, but I had two rides over Labor Day weekend 2013 at Galesburg IL. It was a great experience. I now have an entry in my logbook for instruction in a Stearman, and the extra cost of the aerobatic ride is totally worth it.

2013/12/16 at 3:13 pm

David Attig

Ivan

Beyond my expectations; this is a special opportunity to take part in the legacy of aviation.

Ivan

My cousin and I had our ride with Dave, and it was a once in a lifetime experience! It was thrilling! I highly recommend spending the time to meet Dave and take a ride in this plane. I look forward to going back and taking part in an aerobatic ride.

2013/10/13 at 7:21 pm

Alex

My wife and kids gave me a gift certificate for an aerobatic flight with Brown Aviation in the PT17 Stearman. Scheduling the flight with Dave was easy and the next thing I knew I was meeting him at the hanger on the perfect day to fly. Dave let me mount a goPro camera on one of the struts so I could get some footage of the flight (http://youtu.be/qghx133wD3M). I just have to say, this was the best present I have ever gotten!! I had so much fun in the Stearman. I have flown many times before but never acrobatically. Dave explained the moves he would do one at a time and then he did them in combinations. There isn’t a roller coaster out there that can compare to the flight with Dave. I hope to do more in the near future!

2013/10/06 at 9:28 pm

Greg Trnka

I just took my first ride and can say it was one of the most amazing things I have ever done. Dave is an awesome pilot! He provides a very informative tour then gets into exciting acrobatics! It was a smooth ride the whole time. I recommend this to everyone, even if you are a little nervous.

2013/10/01 at 2:34 pm

Hilary Valentine

Good morning every body!
I am writing this message a little late, but with school, I didn’t have time before!!!
My name is Pierrick, I am french, and I took this flight for my 15th birthday!
I took a biplane ride with David, and it was just AWSOME!!! These 30 minutes has been a lot of emotion, but Dave was a super pilot and it has been terrific! I would like to become a air pilot fighter later, and this amazing flight just make me want that stronger than ever.
If you have an opportunity to take a flight, don’t hesitate!!!
Thanks you again David for this flight, and bye every body.
Pierrick

2013/09/18 at 6:51 pm

Pierrick Antoine

Thanks to Dave & Brian (my pilot) for the best 30 minutes of flying, ever. Brian toured me around on a gorgeous sunny Labor Day, in Galesburg, IL, at the annual “fly-in”. Not only was the view from the plane amazing, but Brian’s skills as well as his engaging education about flying made the whole trip “priceless”. Terrific ambassadors for the thrill of flight!!

2013/09/02 at 10:41 pm

Matt Madison

My wife and boys purchased me an aerobatic ride for Father’s Day and it was phenomenal! As a retired U.S. Marine “rotorhead”, flying is in my blood and I never tire of being in the air. However, this experience was like none other! Dave is truly a top notch aviator and handles the Stearman in an enviable, effortless manner. Although performing aerobatic maneuvers, it was a smooth and fascinating ride! If you have never had the pleasure of being in the air with Dave, you do not know what you are missing! Semper Fi, Dave! You are the best!

2013/09/01 at 8:06 pm

Doyle Reagan

David,
Thank You, The smile on my Bride’s face was priceless after her ride. It has always been a dream of hers to fly in an open Stearman. She’ll be back and so will the grand kids. Sincerely, William G. Bott

2013/06/18 at 7:20 am

Bill and Gale Bott

I purchased a ride for my husband for father’s day. Of course, as a young mother with a young son, I inevitably had some nerves about him being up in the air. As soon as I saw the impeccable condition of the plane, and the tidy garage, I felt 100% at ease. David is an absolute pro and clearly knows what he’s doing. It’s easy to connect to his congenial personality which I’m sure can put the most nervous person at ease.

My husband is a fan of WWII planes, and this fit the bill perfectly. It was a perfect day, a perfect ride, and a perfect experience! My husband enjoyed the opportunity to take the controls, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to top the experience again! Thanks to David for your professionalism, the love for your plane, and the great opportunity!

2013/06/17 at 1:41 pm

Jody Symula

Last week my daughters surprised me with a ticket to ride. I finally fulfilled a long-time ambition of flying in an open-cockpit biplane. Wow! I loved it. It was so much fun, far exceeding my expectations. I can’t wait to do it again. There was one moment, when we turned and dove to do a little low-level barnstorming and we were pointed towards the fast coming up ground, where a little trepidation tripped through my head but was immediately banished by the comforting thought that Dave is a remarkably skilled pilot and I had complete faith that things would be alright. If you’re thinking about doing this, do it, you’ll love it!

2012/11/07 at 9:50 pm

Rick Yorczyk

David,

Thanks for the awesome ride in your pt-17 today!

I really appreciated all the great stunts you did for me, man, talk about freedom..and flying! Just loved it.

This is how I celebrated my 11th wedding anniversary, thanks Michelle!!

I really dig your airplane, what a wonderfully preserved piece of aviation history, I personally wouldn’t change a thing, its super cool as is. Runs like a champ and wow does Dave have mad skills at the stick, I am impressed.

Thanks again Dave, hope we meet again sometime.

Jeff and Michelle Bockus

2012/10/21 at 2:53 pm

Jeff Bockus

My daughter bought me a ride in Dave’s Stearman for my birthday last weekend. As a retired USAF B-52 and B-1 instructor pilot, I must say it was a thrill beyond belief. Of course I chose the aerobatic flight. The open cockpit really adds to the fun of the loops, lazy eights, four point rolls, and other manuevers. Dave is a highly skilled pilot and I doubt there is anyone better at what he does in a Stearman. He is a joy to fly with and if you have the opportunity to fly with him, take it. You will be talking about it for weeks and have memories for a lifetime.

2012/10/09 at 8:39 pm

Bob Davis

What a ride, I had not flown in 30+ years in a light aircraft (never in a bi-plane). That had to be one of the best 30 minutes I have had all year. Although I am not a pilot, but the instructional time spent with Dave and the pure joy of doing wing-overs in the Stearman was fabulous. You just can’t beat the open-cockpit experience and the sound and smell of the 7 cylinder radial engine purring along at 1200 feet over the Warrenton countryside. Flying the Stearman was truly incredible, what a plane. Thanks Dave, sign me up for the aerobatic ride next year!

2012/09/26 at 11:30 am

Eric

I recently went on my third flight with Dave and had such a great time! He did a lot of aerobatics with me this time….better than a roller coaster! The weather was perfect and I got some great pictures from the air. Flying with Dave is well worth your time and money…it’s an adventure many people only dream of and never get a chance to do. Dave is a real pro and I’ll definitely be back up in the air with him as soon as I can!

2012/08/26 at 12:57 pm

Allison Richter

This past September 2011 I had the pleasure to attend the 40th Annual National Stearman Fly-In hosted in Galesburg Illnois. My friend Dave Brown competed and won the 2011 National Stearman Fly-In Masters Aerobatic Contest. Dave was flying his stock Stearman with a 220 HP Continental engine. Dave was up against his peers “the best” some flying Stearman’s with a 450 HP Pratt. Dave is a great showman and while mighty good with energy mangement was judged by the “King of Energy Management in a Stearman”. That says a lot.
That Judge among others was John Mohr of renown Air Show fame. Dave is modest, sign of a true Champion and will be conducting a seminar on Aerobatic Flying at this years 2012 event in Galesburg. I would suggest you consider Dave Brown when you are looking for Stearman Instruction. This is a unsolicited endorsement. CAVU John Dudley Barksdale

2012/08/20 at 3:58 pm

John Dudley Barksdale

On July 22, 2012 I had the pleasure of taking my boyfriend down to the Aerodome for his first aerobatic biplane ride with Dave Brown. We were celebrating Ben’s 30th birthday. Dave Brown couldn’t have been a better pilot to take Ben up. Ben loves the feeling of thrill and Dave gave that to him for the entirety of his ride. I only wish that they could have stayed closer so I could see all of the maneuvers that were being performed. Two months later we are still talking about how much fun he had on his ride. This was the BEST birthday present, to see the smile on his face made the two hour drive one way completely and totally worth it. If you ever have the chance to take advantage of a ride with Dave or send a friend/family member up with him…DO IT!!!! It will be the time of your/their life. Thanks again for making his birthday an amazing one!!!!

 

2012/08/18 at 9:51 pm

Amy and Ben

I fly just about every week on commercial jets from one city to another, most of the time. So, flying is nothing new to me as I’ve been one of those Road Warriors for over 2 decades. But, that experience is more like a Greyhound Bus compared to what my wife, my first true love, gave me for my birthday. Dave Brown gave me one of the biggest thrills of my life and it only took an hour! Flying in a his open cockpit WWII airplane on Memorial Day was truly a breathtaking event. We hovered at around 1000 feet and flew a route taking us into the Foothills on a day where we had a visibility of 10 miles, not a cloud in the sky! It gave me a totally different perspective and renewed my interest in flying! Also, watching my 2 boys (Nick & Jake) take all of it in was also very rewarding! Dave also added to it with all his knowledge, experience, and true love of flying. I would highly recommend doing this because it’s a total “bucket list” item, so put it on yours, call Dave, and book it!

2012/05/28 at 9:42 pm

Peter Margaros

This was the first time I was up in a airplane, and at first i was kinda scared. we had a very clean takeoff and up we went, after about 2 to 3 minutes in the air i felt very comfortable. i was so comfortable with Dave Brown i asked him to do a flip and we did a flip and a barrel roll it was very stress relieving, and cool flipping upside down. Mr. Brown is the best in the business and I would recommend that if anybody wanted to go on a biplane ride he is the man. the landing was so smooth is barely felt the ground hit the wheels. HE IS THE BEST.

2012/04/15 at 8:59 pm

Austin Ball

As a fellow Stearman pilot, I called Dave Brown for help with information on my biplane. His generosity in sharing his time, knowledge & enthusiasm is unparalleled & his expertise is invaluable. Dave is a wonderful person & and a great asset to the flying community. Thanks Dave!

2011/10/29 at 2:35 pm

John Hull

Matt Sommer

I flew from 0W3 to KHWY on a beautiful fall day and had the experience of a lifetime taking an aerobatic flight with Dave. As a fellow aviator and military man, I can say unequivocally that he is one of the most skilled and professional pilots I have had the benefit of knowing. He is also one of the nicest guys you could hope to meet in aviation. The entire experience was like stepping back into the Army Air Corps of 1942: from the exceptional PT-17, to the period decorated hangar, right down to the aviator’s cap you wear in the open cockpit-a first class experience all the way! Great job Dave!

2011/10/24 at 8:47 am

Matt Sommer

I had the pleasure of flying with Dave at the National Stearman Fly-In in September. What a wonderful and exciting experience. He won the Master Aerobatic Competition and rightfully so. Way to go Dave.. You deserved that recognition!!

Can’t wait for next year!!

2011/09/23 at 10:34 am

Becky Patterson

My first flight with David was over 25 years ago. I was fortunate to be in Warrenton a couple years ago and to be able to take another flight with David, but in the Stearman this time. Wow!!!! We didn’t do the full acrobatic experience, but we did do a couple rolls. It was awesome!! My daughter, who is afraid of flying, also went up that day. She said it was incredible. Besides the excitement, the scenery is amazing as well. I can’t wait to go back.

2011/09/22 at 7:24 am

Mike Oelschlager

If you are considering a ride in a plane for yourself or as a gift, you will find many many places and airplanes to choose from, but I can tell you from my personal experience that you need look no further. You absolutely must take a ride in a biplane to understand how amazing it really is… Once you realize this, understand you must ride in a Stearman. It is tough, rugged, comfortable and beautiful, everything a biplane should be. Once you realize this, you ABSOLUTELY MUST ride with Dave Brown. There is no one better, more skilled, friendlier, accommodating or eager to please. He wants you to have the time of your life, whether that is straight and gentle or upside down, rolling, looping and spinning. You are in safe, competent hands with Dave! Book your ride, you’ll never regret it!

2011/09/22 at 12:04 am

Brian Rosenstein

I was the lucky “Wolford” chosen to fly with David at the Stearman Fly-In in Galesburg, Illinois this past weekend and I have not stopped telling anyone and everyone who will listen what a thrill it was! Gliding over my husband’s family’s farm and seeing the patterns of the landscape and trying to fix it all in my mind’s eye while staying in the moment was the biggest challenge next to trying to write about it now. I felt “safely tucked” in to my little seat and as we climbed out from the grass airstrip my spirit soared! The joy of being piloted by someone who loves what he does and just wants to share it was truly the best blessing of all. Whenever I need a little “lift” I will go back to that special day when I was invited to fly the friendly skies. Thanks for the thrill of my life! See ya next year?

2011/09/03 at 10:34 pm

Dana Wolford

I was the lucky “Wolford” chosen to fly with David at the Stearman Fly-In in Galesburg, Illinois this past weekend and I have not stopped telling anyone and everyone who will listen what a thrill it was! Gliding over my husband’s family’s farm and seeing the patterns of the landscape and trying to fix it all in my mind’s eye while staying in the moment was the biggest challenge next to trying to write about it now. I felt “safely tucked” in to my little seat and as we climbed out from the grass airstrip my spirit soared! The joy of being piloted by someone who loves what he does and just wants to share it was truly the best blessing of all. Whenever I need a little “lift” I will go back to that special day when I was invited to fly the friendly skies. Thanks for the thrill of my life! See ya next year?

2011/09/03 at 10:34 pm

Dana Wolford

Dave Brown provides a outstanding Stearman ride. It’s fun and educational. His wonderful attitude and passion make it a joy, Dave is a true “Southern Gentlemen of the Air”.

Recently Dave flew at the Lynchburg Regional Airshow, performing and providing VIP/Sponsor rides to the thrill of thousands and the few lucky riders. I would fly with Dave any day. He has the respect of all his fellow pilots. Come meet him at the Flying Circus in Bealeton Va. any Sunday May thru Oct. or schedule a surprise ride as a gift for that special person.

2011/09/02 at 1:34 pm

John Dudley Barksdale

I had the great pleasure of riding with David at the Flying Circus Balloon Fest and it was a great experience. He was super and the ride was the thrill of my life. Thank you David for such a great time. It won’t be my last!

2011/08/21 at 8:02 pm

David Holtz

DAVID BROWN IS THE MAN!!!  My wife surprised me with an aerobatic flight with Dave for my birthday a few weeks ago, it was unreal. Thousand times better than any roller coaster you’ll go on, amazing views, and the crazy twists and turns make for an adrenaline rush like no other, I highly recommend for the thrill seekers. I’ll definitely be visiting Dave again and maybe even making it an annual summer ride!

2011/08/17 at 2:07 pm

Matt Born

Just had my first aerobatic flight today with Dave at the Flying Circus, amazing experience. Quite often in life things do not live up to our expectations but Dave really delivered, a great show and then WOW what a ride. From enjoying cruising along taking in the scenery in the open cockpit, to the thrill of feeling weightless as the plane seems to tumble toward earth before feeling the g forces as the plane roars to life pulling out and readying for the next maneuver. Amazing and it goes on and on, incredible, i really really got my moneys worth and am glad to have met a nice guy and amazing pilot.

2011/08/07 at 9:49 pm

Oliver Compton

Fortunate to say that my very first aerobatic biplane ride was with Dave in 2007, from that point on I have been addicted to the thrills of an open cockpit. We drive six hours from North Carolina, and Dave makes it well worth the drive! Dave will adapt his flight to the passenger, if you like intense and thrilling you will get it; likewise if you just want to sit back and enjoy the wonderful views Dave will oblige. Thanks Dave! We will see you next year! (No, Joe says in the Fall – proably mid September or early October).

2011/07/22 at 7:35 pm

Lori Ann Gordon

Fortunate to say that my very first aerobatic biplane ride was with Dave in 2007, from that point on I have been addicted to the thrills of an open cockpit. We drive six hours from North Carolina, and Dave makes it well worth the drive! Dave will adapt his flight to the passenger, if you like intense and thrilling you will get it; likewise if you just want to sit back and enjoy the wonderful views Dave will oblige. Thanks Dave! We will see you next year! (No, Joe says in the Fall – proably mid September or early October).

2011/07/22 at 7:35 pm

Brandon Colvin

Wow! My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary with plane rides with Dave. I cannot begin to say how much we enjoyed the adventure. Dave, an experienced pilot and Air Force Reservist, made our trip exciting and informative. He is dedicated to preserving his vintage Stearman and to providing his clients with the most “bang for their buck.” He obviously loves flying and his expertise and skill provided us with the trip of a lifetime. Thanks, Dave! We’ll be back!

 

2011/06/20 at 9:17 pm

Tena Keeling

See more customer reviews at: